Summer Trail Race Series starts tomorrow

The inaugural night of the Summer Trail Race Series is here!

I ran the course today and it is ready to go. I got my shoes a bit muddy, but my socks stayed dry. I was very glad to see the snow is virtually all gone! We had been wondering if we would have to go with an alternate route this first week.

I mapped the course with a program called Endomondo. Using it, I was able to generate a GPX file (stored on DropBox) which you should be able to download here. You can drag this file into Google Earth for viewing. Google Earth will allow the route to “play” to show you the direction. I believe that modern GPS units can download the file and you can use the GPS to follow the course (obviously I haven’t tried this). Endomondo also generated a elevation map (below).

elevation and map Douglas Park hillThe weather looks good for tomorrow night, so come out to try out the course. I suggest bringing a map along the course. There are a few confusing spots along the way.

May course map

We are also getting some prizes firmed up for the Summer Trail Race Series. The more you participate, the greater your chances to win!

Leave a Reply

