Summer Trail Race Series – June location change!

That’s right, the first month of the Summer Trail Race Series is complete!

Now we move on to White Butte!

I went out to White Butte to map a course Sunday – what a great day. The trails are in great condition. No surprise – there is water on the course. Three locations, if I remember correctly. It never got my knees wet and the surface is firm underneath – very manageable.

I have included a map and GPX file (below), but will have to update it after the first race, as I had a navigation error around 2.5 km in and didn’t have time to run it all again. We are essentially following the 5 km route for Mountain of Hope (maps available here – Mountain of hope maps).

I mapped the distance at: 4.74 km. The long course option will be 2x around, so about 9.5 km.

Meeting spot: by the map at the parking lot

elevation and map White ButteHere is a link to the GPX file for the course. This file will also be updated once I have run the course as planned. You can drag this file into Google Earth for viewing. Google Earth will allow the route to “play” to show you the direction. I believe that modern GPS units can download the file and you can use the GPS to follow the course (obviously I haven’t tried this).

Leave a Reply

