2018 Boot Race Results

What an awesome day for a run!  By race time it was 20 degrees, sunny with a slight breeze.  The race followed the usual course from Rick Hansen park and circled A.E. Wilson Park with a full loop of the island.  The crowd (all 3 of them) watched with racing hearts as the race unfolded.  Several unexpected passes mid-race left the timers and finish judges on edge as the group neared the finish line.  It wasn’t quite a photo finish but close enough to be exciting.

This year we had 3 first time Boot racers.  Rob Humphries ended his first ever Boot Race by taking home the coveted trophy.

All the runners did a great job and there was lots of chatting as runners and volunteers enjoyed a snack and a drink while waiting for the official results.  Mary Simrose was sad to give up the trophy but ran a very strong race.2018 Boot Race Collage

Thanks to the volunteers who helped setup, tear down and manage the race.

2018 Boot Race
Last Name First Name 5 km time Start Time Gun Time Running Time
Humphries Robert 29:00:00 2:00:00 26:14:00 24:14:00
Rathgeber Lane 23:11:00 7:49:00 30:07:00 22:18:00
Bedel Jenna 27:30:00 3:30:00 30:34:00 27:04:00
Simrose Mary 31:00:00 0 30:34:00 30:34:00
Bedel Kevin 24:00:00 7:00:00 30:39:00 23:39:00
Hynne Doug 25:00:00 6:00:00 31:14:00 25:14:00
Rathgeber Carolyn 25:20:00 5:40:00 35:43:00 30:03:00
McGaffey Sean 30:00:00 1:00:00 DNF



Prediction Mile 2018 Results

Sunday March 25 2018, 15 runners and walkers gathered at the City of Regina Fieldhouse for the Regina Road Runners Club 2018 Prediction Mile.

The participants ranged from months old to decades old. Art and Vicky Bonnell and Lee Ubell were there to help with timing and keep things ‘running’ smoothly. There was lots of cheering and heckling from those either waiting their turn or having finished their turn.

Tied for best predictions this year were Yvonne Andrews and Mitchell Japp.  Leah and Maryn Japp came in 3rd and 4th.  Tom Maher relinquished his title from last year and settled for 5th.

There was pizza and pop for everyone afterwards.

The Roadrunners AGM followed with 20 attendees.

Name Prediction Actual Difference from Predicted
Japp Mitchell 7:50 7:47 0.03
Andrews Yvonne 15:00 15:03 0.03
Japp Leah 8:23 8:32 0.09
Japp Maryn 12:30 12:40 0.10
Mahar Tom 9:20 9:37 0.17
Andrews Todd 8:45 8:24 0.21
Hynne Doug 8:45 8:20 0.25
Leask Doug 12:12 11:41 0.31
Leask Marylyn 14:55 14:21 0.34
Luitning Rand 10:40 10:01 0.39
Walker Patti 15:45 16:32 0.47
Japp Logan 9:15 11:37 2.22
Togneri Lu 12:30 16:31 4.01
Togneri Lia 12:30 16:31 4.01
Hynne Linda NA 14:33

2017 Deadfall 50 Results

Another Deadfall 50 finished for another year. Thanks to all the racers for coming out to support the run and, more importantly, support the All Nations Healing Hospital.

Congratulations to Conor Renouf for repeating as the Deadfall 50 Champion, with a course record time of 4:51:08. Other winners include:
50K Relay – Savage Fartleks (Misty Wensel, Elias Williams, Jeff Dudar, Cameron Wensel) in a time of 4:43:22
25K Men’s Champion – Gerry Nagy (2:11:37)
25K Women’s Champion – Amy Carlson (2:42:10)
12.5K Men’s Champion – James Munroe (1:05:40)
12.5K Women’s Champion – Kyra Ives (1:11:07)

Also thanks to our major sponsors, Campbell Safety Consulting and Track and Trail, for their support.

Finally, no race is possible without a host of volunteers and this fine group of people really helped to make it all come together. A big shout out to:
Wade Hagen, Pat Lee, Wanda Bouchard-Barry, Alan Barry, Wendy Lazarou, Terry Lazarou, Linda & Danny Mosely, Tom McDougall, Larry Bedel, Graham Taylor, Lee Ubell, Iona Glabus, Jeff Campbell, Laurie Campbell, Trish, Craig Johnson, and Marie.

An especially big shoutout to Rick Minett for his ongoing work to make this race a great success.

DEADFALL Results 2017 (50K Solo)

DEADFALL Results 2017 (50K Relay)

DEADFALL Results 2017 (25K Trail Challenge)

DEADFALL Results 2017 (12.5K Trail Blazer)

DEADFALL Results 2017 (5K Fun Run Walk)

2017 Regina Beach Trail Race Results

** There were a couple of errors in the 5 km results.  Those have been corrected as of July 21.

Thank you to the 65 runners who came out to participate in the Regina Beach Trail Race.

A special thanks to the organizers and volunteers – course marshals, timers and kitchen workers, who kept most of us on track and headed in the right direction.  We had a beautiful day with sunshine and a cooling breeze.  As usual the course was challenging but enjoyable. The pancakes and sausage following the race were great.

Here are the results for the 2017 Regina Beach Trail Race

Kids Race

Newton Ryder M Child Run 3.49
Gyurek Finnley F Child Run 4.53
Newton Ryker M Child Run 5.23
Maki Aedan M Child Run 5.25
Stumph Nathan M Child Run 5.41
Barry Sara Marie F Child Run 5.48
Gallant Ryder M Child Run 7.40

5 km Race

Lawson Karen F 5 km 21.02
Newton Ethan M 5 km 24.39
Stump Mike M 5 km 25.11
Bonnell Vicky F 5 km 30.26
Albrecht Nadine F 5 km 31.40
Bendig Melissa F 5 km 32.52
Haggard Melissa F 5 km 32.52
Morrelljohnson Shirl F 5 km 33.15
Leask Heather F 5 km 33.37
Schlenker Amanda F 5 km 34.57
Patterson Tomas M 5 km 36.35
Bonnell Art M 5 km 39.25
Patterson Emmett M 5 km DNF

10 km Race

Grundle Shaun M 10 km 43.56
Criddle Kaytlyn F 10 km 43.59
Humphries Robert M 10 km 01:05:18
Carlson Amy F 10 km 01:06:19
Carlson Terri F 10 km 01:07:14
Johnson Gary M 10 km 01:07:54
Zerr Shelley F 10 km 01:09:20
Hodge Curtis M 10 km 01:09:35
Kim-Crossman So Young F 10 km 01:09:52
Fieger Erin F 10 km 01:09:59
Walton Stephanie F 10 km 01:10:42
McDonald Lisa F 10 km 01:10:45
Dreher Kathy F 10 km 01:11:40
Roldan Carlos M 10 km 01:14:39
Patterson Aaron M 10 km 01:16:06
Rathgeber Lane M 10 km 01:16:06
McLeod Cathie F 10 km 01:19:43
Spitzer Joey M 10 km 01:21:47
McCormick Megan F 10 km 01:22:35
McBride Bonnie F 10 km 01:24:40
Quickfall Raye F 10 km 01:24:41
Spitzer Sarah F 10 km 01:24:46
Wilde Kathy F 10 km 01:33:29
Park Miso F 10 km 01:34:14
Hooker Chelta F 10 km 01:39:29
Lillejord Autumn F 10 km 01:39:34
Novotna Gabriela F 10 km DNF

15 km Race

McLeod Rob M 15 km 01:09:14
Newton Mark M 15 km 01:11:11
Taylor Jennifer F 15 km 01:28:52
Hubick Jason M 15 km 01:33:50
Luo Zhe M 15 km 01:34:36
Dreher Dennis M 15 km 01:35:35
Hynne Doug M 15 km 01:36:32
Wessel David M 15 km 01:36:50
Wilkes Cody M 15 km 01:40:59
Kitsch Lesley F 15 km 01:42:07
Quinney Shaun M 15 km 01:44:07
Rempel Megan F 15 km 01:48:03
Riley Corina F 15 km 01:47:57
Williamson Angela F 15 km 01:58:04
Klein Mallory F 15 km 02:09:32
Nault Jill F 15 km 02:09:32
Kelly Stevie F 15 km DNF
Kelly Shawn M 15 km DNF

2017 Boot Race Results

We had a beautiful day for the race, although wind strength did influence the outcome.  The course started from Rick Hansen park and circled A.E. Wilson Park with a full loop of the island.  This allowed the crowd to watch the race develop and cheer on their favourites.  The timers and finish judges were able to relax as the runners were quite spread out by the finish although no one was able to accurately predict the results.

All the runners did a great job and there was lots of chatting as runners and volunteers enjoyed a snack and a drink while waiting for the official results.  Mary Simrose is the proud owner of the Coveted Boot Race Trophy for the next year, after having missed the podium for the last 5 years.

Thanks to the volunteers who helped setup, tear down and manage the race.

Photos to follow

2017 RRRC Boot Race
Runner Name Predicted 5k Time Start Time Gun Time Running Time
Mary 34:00:00 3:00:00 30:53:00 27:53:00
Carolyn 30:07:00 6:53:00 34:52:00 27:59:00
Marilyn 34:30:00 2:30:00 35:42:00 33:12:00
Lane 23:07:00 13:53:00 37:04:00 23:11:00
Kyle 20:00:00 17:00:00 37:32:00 20:32:00
Doug 37:00:00 0:00:00 38:44:00 38:44:00